– Went to a lesson over at Richland Country Club last week. Pretty impressed by the pro, Chris Cauthen. Having taken so much time off, I was worried he would just tell me to scrap everything, but fortunately that’s not the case. Few things I’m working on now… 1) standing a little more upright at address. 2) more of a shoulder turn to create more distance, which has always been a problem for me and 3) the most difficult change: I’ve got a bit of a dip on my downswing. My head and upper body tends to drop a bit as I swing downward. The club gets trapped and comes from too steep an angle, causing mishits on the toe and weak fades.  So, no better time to change the swing than when you are starting to play again. I’m hoping it’s easier to get lose the old habits, especially the dip, because that’s going to be the key to making my swing respectable. I’ll definitely be visiting Chris again in a month or so.

My short-term goal is to play, and compete, in some local and state amateur tournaments, beginning next spring. The first step is to get a handicap again, which I’m working on. I’m guessing I’ll be in the 6-7 range, but I’d like to get it down to a 1 or so again within the next year.

– Looks like Phil was just Phil again over the weekend, bogeying 3 of the last 4 to fade out of contention at the WGC Bridgestone. Not a great way to enter the PGA Championship week.  I was watching some of the swings over the weekend, and I’ve got to say that Lee Westwood’s swing is pretty freaking beautiful. So balanced and compact.  Just a great swing. On the other end, Vijay looks so wristy and awkward, but he gets the job done.

– Congrats to my old buddy Bryant Odom for winning the Georgia Open this past weekend.  Bryant shot 14 under to win by 5 shots at Barnsley Gardens in Adairsville.  I think he’s starting to come on and will hopefully make a good run at Q School this year, at least getting back on to the Nationwide. My most vivid memory of playing golf with Bryant was when he shot a course record, 60, at our home course at the time, Cartersville Country Club, about 10 or so years ago. 

– Last thought…a co-worker sent me this video about a five-year-old kid named Kyle Lograsso. Kyle is not only a golf prodigy with a beautiful little swing, he’s overcome eye cancer and plays the game with vision in only one eye.  Just amazing.

