While I was searching for a driver, I found this website called Golf Club Demo.com.  Think NetFlix, but instead of renting Batman Begins, you’re renting a Ping G10, a Taylor Made R7, or a set of Callaway irons.  You pay anywhere from $20 to $30 to basically rent the club for about five days. You pick it, they maiI it to you, and then you mail it back.

I haven’t tried it out yet, but I was impressed by the selection of clubs available to demo. They have both woods and irons available from six manufacturers–Adams, Callaway, Cleveland, Mizuno, Nike, and Taylor Made.

As I’m sure you already know, never, never, never buy a club without hitting it. And take a lesson from me–don’t trust those golf simulators in the golf stores.  They are crap, my friend…crap.  You’ve got to take the club out to the old-fashioned driving range and knock it around a bit. So this site allows you to do just that.

The cool thing about this site is that you not only pick the club itself, but you have different shaft choices as well. Pretty nifty idea. Brilliant, in fact–especially for the public course golfer who doesn’t always have access to top-notch pro shops.

Let me know if you’ve tried this out, or if you plan to. My next big golfing purchase is a 3 wood and a hybrid sometime in the next several months. So I’m thinking about giving Golf Club Demo.com a try.

