grand-national1

Grand National named the number one public course by Golf World readers. (Image: DJ Damian/Flickr)

So I’m ashamed to say that I lived in Birmingham for three years and never played any of the Robert Trent Jones courses. Seriously, that’s sad.

Now, granted, I was at the peak of my burnout phase during that time. I’d just as soon sew a quilt all day than play a round of golf. But, nonetheless, I must have had serious issues to not play any of these tracks.

Grand National and Capitol Hill were named the top two public courses by the readers of Golf World Magazine. You can see the list here.

The Robert Trent Jones trail is a mecca for many a golfer, much like Pinehurst in North Carolina. If you’re ever in the vicinity, get yourself to an RTJ course. Don’t be an idiot, like me.

