I remember my first HDTV experience…what  a day.

Over four years ago, I was at my in-law’s house (then future in-laws), visiting Katie for a weekend. Katie’s dad and I watched the Georgia-LSU game on his 60 inch HD set.

Georgia lit up LSU on that glorious fall day. And the picture, so crisp and clear, made me feel as if David Greene’s touchdown passes were thrown to me.

panasonic

Golf, HD, Hawaii...the perfect match.

About two years later, Katie and I purchased a 42″ Panasonic plasma set, my first HD TV, just in time for the 2006 college football season. I spent about five months researching everything: LCD or plasma? 42 or 37?  To this day, I’m still amazed at the clarity of the HD picture. Since switching from Comcast to Direct TV, I’m even more pleased with the beauty of HD.

Yesterday, I had another mountaintop HD experience. You see, I’ve watched golf in HD before…many, many times. All the networks broadcast in HD these days. But there was something quite unbelievable about The Golf Channel’s broadcast at Kapalau over the weekend.

Seriously, that might be the most beautiful HD sporting event I’ve ever watched. High Definition golf in Hawaii is absolutely the next best thing to being at the tournament. Crystal clear water. Rugged mountains. Plush green grass. What a gorgeous picture.

As beautiful as Augusta is in HD, Kapalua is simply magnificent. And The Golf Channel has obviously dropped some serious cash to buy their cameras.

If you missed any of the golf over the weekend–and with all the NFL playoff games, I’m sure you missed most, if not all, of it–then you’ve got to tune in this weekend. The Tour is still in Hawaii at the Waialae Country Club in Honolulu. The Golf Channel and its fancy cameras will broadcast.

* Robert Bruce received no compensation from The Golf Channel for the preceding endorsement.

