chicken-soup1Can I market myself for one moment?

Today is a bit of a cool day for me. One of my golf short stories is featured in Chicken Soup for the Soul: The Golf Book, sponsored by Golf Digest. The book, in bookstores today, can also be found on Amazon.com.

I feel blessed that I’ve been getting paid to do something I love–write–for more than eight years now. I’ve been fortunate enough to have been published on many a magazine and website during that time–some credited, most ghostwritten.

For the most part, my work has had a spiritual, Christian theme. But I grew a bit burned out on that genre a year ago. So I decided to branch out and stretch my writing muscles a bit. After all, who wants to get pigeonholed into one genre?  That’s when the idea of this blog came about.

Having always loved sports, especially golf, I’d love nothing more than to write freelance sports articles one day. So I submitted a short 800 word article to the Chicken Soup people after seeing a writeup in Golf Digest.

Who knew that a few months later I would be getting my first book credit? It’s humbling to see my name alongside some notable golfers and journalists. I really didn’t think I had much of chance, to be honest.

Bottom line: check out the book. Hope you like it.

Maybe I’ll post the story here later this week.

