More sad news from the golf world over the weekend.

KenGreenFormer PGA Tour player and current Champions Tour member Ken Green had to have a portion of his right leg amputated due to injuries he suffered in a tragic car accident last week.

Green’s brother, his girlfriend, and his German Shepherd were all killed when a front tire on Green’s RV blew, slid down an embankment, and hit a tree. Green was in the back of the vehicle, and his brother was driving.

The surgery went well. Green is now recovering and says he wants to be the first professional golfer to pay with a prosthetic leg.

Green said the following in a statement:

I don’t know if I will ever play on the Tour again. But I do know this: I am so proud to have been a professional golfer for 30 years. I am proud of my five Tour wins and to have represented my country in the 1989 Ryder Cup. That will never be taken away from me.

You can’t always choose what happens to you in life; but you can choose how you deal with these setbacks. I’m not giving up.”

How inspiring is that? My prayers go out to Ken Green during what must be an amazingly difficult time.

