Your golfing options are limited in Times Square. (Image: Robert Bruce's iPhone)

So the wife and I just got back from a trip to New York City.

We did about everything we could possibly do in three-and-a-half days. It was the total tourist experience.

Two Broadway shows (Phantom of the Opera and Memphis), three incredible dinners (I would HIGHLY recommend Babbo, owned by Mario Batali of Iron Chef and Food Network Fame), the Empire State Building, NBC Tour, Double Decker tour through the whole city. The list could go on forever. But suffice to say that we were busy the whole time.

That said, for all the exciting things there are to do in Manhattan, I was struck by the lack of golf options. In fact, there aren’t any.

Yesterday, I googled “Golf in Manhattan” and found a course in Manhattan, Iowa and a lounge in New York City called “The Country Club.” Of course, there’s the occasional golf store, but golf just doesn’t exist on the island.

What a pain that must be for golfers. I’m just imagining the inconvenience of hopping on the subway (clubs in tow), PATH, or even driving to another course off the island.

When I lived in Atlanta, I think one of the main reasons I didn’t play much golf was because it was just a pain in the butt to fight traffic on a weeknight to play. Fourty-five minutes of traffic for 45 minutes of range practice just wasn’t worth it after a busy day at work.

So I can’t imagine how hard it must be to be a golfer in Manhattan. But I guess if you live in Manhattan, you have more important interests.

So what do you do if you want to play golf and you live in Manhattan?

