This does not look pleasant. (Image: Benjamin Edwards/Flickr)

Today, the temperature is supposed to reach 40 degrees in Nashville. If my memory serves me correctly, this will be the first time it’s reached the 40s in about 3 weeks.

It’s been quite a winter here. We’ve had a four separate snow “events”–with the largest accumulation at about 5 inches. We received another 2 inches over this past weekend. The heat wave today should melt any of the remaining snow to reveal dead, matted down grass. Fun.

Golf has been out of the question here in Nashville. Every day on my way to work, I drive by the public course I call home. Yesterday was the first time in a few weeks that I could see mostly grass. Because of all the frightful weather, I’m guessing the golf games of most Middle Tennesseans are suffering. I can’t imagine what it’s like for those in Washington D.C., Philly, and throughout the northeast.

Anyway, spring is quickly approaching. I’ve been eyeballing my clubs in the garage lately, eyeballing the 8th green as I drive by it on my way home from work. I’ve never been much of a winter golfer, though I’ve always wanted to be.

I’m currently training for a marathon, scheduled for April 24, so that–of course–will affect my playing time. After running 18 miles on a Saturday, I don’t have time to play golf–nor do I feel like playing golf–so we’ll see how I can balance the two once the weather improves.

Anyway, I’ll ramble no more. Here’s hoping the weather in your area is “golfable.” Hit ’em straight.

